Colorado Scientific Society        


About Abstracts Fieldtrips Grants History Join Membership News Officers Outreach
HISTORY  > Home  > History > Presidents > O. L. Tweto



of the
Colorado Scientific Society


Ogden Linne Tweto
(1912 - 1984)

President of the Colorado Scientific Society


Ogden Linne Tweto

President 1952.  Honorary member 1965

  • Geologist

  • Taught at University of North Carolina.  U.S. Geological Survey.  Published many papers on the geology of Colorado.  Expecially known for work on Precambrian rocks of Front Range, upper Paleozoic rocks of the Minturn and Leadville areas, and Tertiary intrusives of the Pando district.  Served as a member of the Geologic Names Committee, U.S. Geological Survey

  • Educated at University of Montana, University of Michigan

  • Distinguished Service Award, U.S. Department of Interior, 1970.  Scientist of the Year, Rocky Mountain Association of Geologists, 1978.  Distinguished Geological Pioneer Award, Rocky Mountain Section, Society of Economic Paleontologists and Mineralogists, 1983.  Honorary member, Rocky Mountain Association of Geologists.  Volume "Colorado geology," Rocky Mountain Association of Geologists dedicated to him

  • Member Geophysical Union, Mineralogical Society, Geological Society of America

  • Compiled the Geologic Map of Colorado published in 1980

from Presidents of the Colorado Scientific Society

Additional Reading